What’s App Doc?

Suffering succotash, it’s been too long since my last post, Millie is 10 months old today and a lot has changed since my last post. She stands now and has begun cruising round furniture, she says ‘Dada’, which is totally awesome even though I don’t think she really associates it with me and she says ‘nah-nah’ when she sees a banana. Remember a few post ago I said babies tell you when they’re full? I’ve changed my mind. Millie will not stop eating! She refuses some things based on flavour but will gladly try something else, constantly. The last time I got her weighed she’d gone from the 50th percentile to the 75th! I don’t think I’ll go again from fear she might obtain the impossible and hit the 100th.

So let’s catch you up on my social standing as a stay at home dad. A few weeks after my last post, I had still not been invited to this WhatsApp group I’d overheard the mums taking about. I was fitting in fine but I wanted in on the inner circle more than Elmer Fudd weawwy hates wabbits.

“What’s all the hubbub, bub?” I asked one of the mums once I’d cornered her.

“Oh… That… Yeah I’m sure I can get you invited. Oh, wait I’m not the group admin though…”

Well, back to the old drawing board, I thought as I planned my next Wile E. Coyote style operation to get me access. Why do they always want to do it the hard way?

They don’t. That evening I was invited to a group called ‘Parenting Locals’. I almost didn’t join because of the boring name but I guess it’s to the point. Once in, there was a comment from one of the mum members welcoming me and stating that this new group was more suitable to include dads.

“Whaddya think you’re doing?” I wanted to reply.

I wanted all the ‘unsuitable for dads’ gossip but unfortunately (or more probably, fortunately) this wasn’t to be and as the name suggests, the group is just for useful baby related info for us local parents. Oh, and the occasional invite to the latest Bridget Jones film preview. Needless to say I remain suprisingly silent during these text conversations.

The group is incredibly useful though, I’ve discovered new ideas, foods and courses that have all been recommended through the group. It’s perfect for the times you’re unsure about how to deal with a particular illness or problem as there is always at least one other who has had the same experience and can share the solution.

It’s also brilliant for coffee and cake consumption. Something that is not doing my wallet or my weight any favours. At least once a week (but usually twice) I’ll have a coffee and a piece of carrot cake with whichever Parenting Locals can make it.

Since Millie was born I have been really terrible at continuing with any form of exercise and the coffee mornings are certainly not helping. Sure, all the baby lifting helps a bit but it doesn’t compete with the number of cocktails (calories) being drunk, a figure that has gone up exponentially since I took on daddy-day-care.

For many years now I have always commuted to work by bike and I thought I’d take it up properly getting me the exercise I desperately needed and also some solo man-time. After hours of research and not a small amount of money later, I’ve become a fully fledged MAMIL*, joined kayaking & table tennis clubs and am almost certainly experiencing a bit of a mid-life crisis.

Lycra is not a good look. I’m still at the right end of the black hole that is amateur cycling to know that (especially with my middle aged gut), but once you’re in you have to look the part. It’s one of those unwritten rules. Water bottles, bib tights and shoes must match the bike or you’re not doing it right.

It is working though, I enjoy getting out into the countryside on a Saturday morning and finding the time to catch up on all my thoughts. It’s a little reset for the beginning of the week to come and will hopefully result in slightly improved fitness. It does however mean that my blog writing time is severely reduced. I’ll keep trying though.

Th-th-th-th-That’s all, Folks!

* Middle Aged Man In Lyrca

Leave a Reply

